top of page

Devi Jewels - finding the goddess within

All images © courtesy of Devi Jewels International society jeweller Radhika Nayar designs pieces to help transform every woman into the goddess within her. Her jewels have been a regular fixture at some of the world’s most glamorous events and this month, jewellery connoisseurs in Dubai will be treated to an exclusive preview of her collection at the Montgomerie Hotel on the 28th of September at the Emirates Hill Golf Course.


Radhika Nayar, founder and creative director, Devi Jewels


We are steadily expanding and are planning ways to bring our jewellery to more women in different parts of the world. These shows are where the DEVI Community gets to see and try on our pieces and I just love interacting with them. Our next preview is in Dubai and I am very much looking forward to it. There is always a fluttering anticipation before a big show or event, but seeing our clients faces light up when they try on our jewels, there is a real thrill in that for me. Radhika Nayar, founder and creative director, Devi Jewels

When was the moment you knew you wanted to be a jeweller?

Radhika Nayar: Believe it or not, when I was younger I wanted to be a mechanical engineer! I have always loved jewellery, though it’s almost a part of my DNA. I believe I have inherited this passion from my grandmother – watching her undergo a transformation when she put on her jewellery fascinated me endlessly as a child. Creating a jewellery collection for friends who are fashion designers made me realise how much I enjoy designing jewellery which eventually led to the founding of my brand in London and Dubai, DEVI Jewels.


How do you define your personal style and the style of your jewellery?

Growing up, I would design my own clothes, taking inspiration from fashion magazines and trying out the latest trends. Today, while my style has definitely evolved, I am not afraid to have a bold or unusual look and let my creativity shine through.

This translates to my jewellery as well, which is contemporary and unique, and designed to bring out the best in the wearer. I also believe in practicality and versatility - many of my jewellery pieces can be worn in multiple ways and I love layering up my designs, depending on my mood and the occasion.


How has your goal of always celebrating women translated into your jewellery?

Creating jewellery that transforms each woman into the goddess that she is has always been our mission. Women by nature often forget to take care of themselves, and at DEVI Jewels we believe it’s so important for them to celebrate themselves just as they are. My intention while designing is to ensure that the wearer of Devi Jewels herself always remains more important than the jewels. Each DEVI Jewels piece communicates a sense of confidence and strength, bringing out the true essence of the women wearing it.

What’s your best advice for curating a serious collection of jewels?

When thinking of putting together a serious jewellery collection, it’s very important to have a balanced mix of coloured and diamond jewellery. My diamond essentials would include a watch, a solitaire ring, a tennis bracelet and a Riviera necklace. A pair of solitaire diamond earrings is also a must. The size and the four Cs depends on your personal preferences and budget.


Touching upon each coloured gemstone, a good mix of Colombian and Zambian emeralds, with a suite of emerald and diamond jewellery such as Elizabeth Taylor’s famous set is a good place to start. I also believe a collection of pieces featuring Burmese rubies and diamonds is also a must for any connoisseur, complete with long earrings, a necklace, a bracelet and an oval ruby ring. A similar collection in sapphires or tanzanite rounds off the gemstone portion of a collection. And to truly complete a collection, a strand of Basra or Australian Southsea pearls and a pearl and diamond jewellery suite are pivotal in my opinion.

Generally speaking, I think it’s very important to only purchase pieces with certified gemstones as they will hold their value over time. I also recommend that my clients begin with larger pieces and then move onto smaller, everyday pieces, as they are easier to choose and less of an investment.


What are your favourite pieces from your collections?

My favourite piece I designed recently is a 49 carat carved emerald necklace, where we created the rectangular carved pendant to be detachable so that it can be worn as a brooch too. To bring out its vivid colour we surrounded it with diamonds and tiny pearls, and to complete it we added diamond tassels ending in pear shaped emeralds. A light, modern chain of round diamonds playfully juxtaposes the large pendant creating what I believe is a contemporary heirloom. I also love one-of-a-kind cocktail rings and my favourites include a 20 carat Colombian emerald ring, edged with baguette diamonds and a 15 carat unheated Burmese ruby ring surrounded by a mix of baguette and round diamonds.


What are your plans for the future with DEVI Jewels? We are steadily expanding and are planning ways to bring our jewellery to more women in different parts of the world. I would also love to have more shows and exhibitions- something I missed greatly during the pandemic. These shows are where the DEVI Community gets to see and try on our pieces and I just love interacting with them. Our next preview is in Dubai on the 28th of September and I am very much looking forward to it. There is always a fluttering anticipation before a big show or event, but seeing our clients faces light up when they try on our jewels, there is a real thrill in that for me.



all images ©

Read our Summer Issue



See Haute couture from

Dior, Alexis Mabille, Georges Hobeika, Zuhair Murad, Valentino and more


















Comments


bottom of page