top of page

DUBAI INTERNATIONAL BAJA UNDER WAY


I Al Attiyah Welcomes Challenge from Emerging Young Drivers

 Al Balooshi Heads the UAE Challenge on Motos



After months of preparation, Dubai International Baja is finally under way as the competitors face into the demanding dunes of Dubai.

Rally weekend began today with the pre-event press conference followed by the ceremonial start and the all-new nighttime prologue at Dubai Festival City.


As the competitors head towards the Al-Futtaim Toyota stage on Leg One in Al Qudra desert on

Saturday, all eyes are on the intriguing battle between established off-road star Nasser Al Attiyah in his

new Prodrive Hunter and the 21-year-old tyro from Califronia, Seth Quintero who has replaced him at

Toyota Gazoo Racing.


Far from feeling threatened by the emerging challenge of youth, the 18-times Middle East Rally

Champion is energized by the prospect of a battle with Quinetrro and 2021 winner Yazeed Al Rajhi.



“Yazeed is one of the strongest competitors,” said Al Atiyah. “He comes every year and now we have

Seth who has taken my place in Toyota GR and I’m so happy to see a new generation (emerging).

Thanks to Toyota for bringing a new generation into this kind of racing.

Sometimes you need to open the door the other competitors. I spent six or seven years at Toyota and

we won everything. Thanks to them and now we have switched to Prodrive Hunter and it will be a really

nice fight between all the teams.

l am really excited (to be with my new team) and really excited to be here in Dubai to test my new car

because it will be tough terrain and not easy. I have a lot of experience of this kind of road and this is the

reason we send the car here to have feedback for the next step in Dakar and we are here to win this

race.”



2021 winner Yazeed Al Rajhi was quick to acknowledge the support of local government authorities in

making the event possible and was looking forward to facing off against Al Attiyah and Quintero among

others as he looks to complete his injury blighted season on a high note.

“Thank you to the Dubai Government and Emirate for supporting our sport. Thank you to all the

government sectors, the police, the army and all the sponsors for helping.

Sure, our target, me and my team, is to come and fight against competitors who are top drivers at a high

level. It won’t be an easy weekend but the important thing is that everybody enjoys it. I hope everything

goes well with us and everybody else. That’s the most important thing.

Me and my team are pushing to do a great job but this year we’ve been unlucky because I couldn’t do a

lot of racing. I broke my ribs skiing and missed some events and that was unlucky but I hope that next

year we can come back strong and do our best.”



For his part Quintero was quick to pay tribute to the assistance he had had from teammate Al Rahji and

Al Attiyah in fast tracking his development.

“I’m super, super excited to be even sitting next to these guys and they’re in a class of their own. I’ve

looked up to them for a very, very long time. The whole time in race and rally these two guys have been

kind enough to take me under their wing and show me the ropes which has been amazing and to finally

step up with Toyota Gazoo Racing Team and to get my opportunity to race a T1 against these guys is

definitely a blessing and I’m definitely looking forward to it.

Dania Akeel, the first ever Saudi woman to compete in international rallying recognised the part Dubai

has played in her motorsport odyssey.

“It’s really special and an excellent place to improve your skills in the desert.

“My love of racing started here in Dubai in 2019 when I raced in the Ducati Cup at the Dubai

Autodrome and after that I was hooked on competing in motorsport. It all started in Dubai on two

wheels and on asphalt.”

On the motos, David Megre of Portugal leads the FIM World Cup Bajas standings heading into this

final round of the season and is quick to emphasise his vast experience in the battle for event and overall

honours.

“I‘m in the front and it’s good for me. I will try to win but I have great competitors. I will do my best. I

think the secret is my age! I’m a little bit older and I’ve done a lot of racing in my 20-year career. It’s

beautiful here and I hope it’s good for me.”

Flying the flag for the local fans is Mohammed Al Balooshi, one of the Middle East’s top motocross

and cross-country riders with a string of titles and likely to challenge this weekend after mechanical

issues stymied his 2022 bid..

“It’s very exciting for me," he said. “There is, like, a healthy pressure. I like this kind of pressure because

it’s exciting and I’m pumped up to go and in Dubai it’s always full gas. David (Megre) spoke to me last

night and asked me about my gearing and I told him. In bikes it’s very tranquil, very easy. In the cars,

it’s different.”

Sarah Khuraibet of Kuwait leads the Women World Cup classification with only Dubai round to

go and has a special bond with Dbai.

“Dubai was actually my first rally so for me to come back here and hopefully finish on the podium

it’s going to be coming full circle almost.

“I’m going to do my best and hopefully bring the title home but, honestly, I’m very proud of where

I’ve come from in the last two years to here so I don’t really have the pressure to win. I’m a

different person on the bike and off the bike as well. Rallies really teach you a lot of things. It

makes you a much more humble person. You learn so much and meet different people along the

way.”


On the quads, Frenchman Kevin Giroud will start favourite at an event which will be a new experience

for him

“I love the desert, I love this race and we will see if I can take the win on the quad. It’s my first

participation here and so far so good.”

Following the Friday evening nighttime prologue, the event continues on Saturday morning with the

first competitor into action at 8:01 for 336.51km of driving and riding of which 17okm is on the Al -

Futtaim Toyota special stages.

Competitors are due back at the service park in Dubai Festival City from 12:50pm.


Mahir Badri, Chief Executive Emirates Motorsport Organization (EMSO), welcomed competitors and

spectators to the event:

When we have started to do the preparation of Dubai Baja, we had one goal - how to make this rally an

exceptional version, and to create memories for our competitors, spectators and our partners.

And I remember when the team came up with the idea to stage a super special stage inside the city and

at night, my first reaction was – impossible.


But a few minutes of recalculation – and knowing how much we are privileged with the support of the

Dubai Government along with our strategic partner Al Futtaim Group through Al Futtaim Automotive

(Toyota) and Festival Mall. As well as that we were able to call on the Dubai Police and Dubai Sport

Council for their amazing and unconditional support.”


Mahir Bahri was joined on stage by Jacques Brent, Managing Director Managing Director Toyota

& Lexus:

“It’s a great opportunity for us to give a little bit back to our customers who have gone out and bought

Toyotas and especially in a great facility like this, Festival City and Al-Futtaim Property and an

opportunity to showcase the broader Al-Futtaim brand. We’re very proud to be part of the Dubai

International Baja and obviously it helps to reinforce the overall message around Toyota and motorsport

and what we do for the community.”


Also present at the presentation and representing the government agencies which have made the event

possible were

Yousuf Alraeesi Director of Government and Consumer Relations, H.E. Major General Abdullah Ali

Al Ghaithi, Director of the General Department of Authorities, Installations and Emergency Security

and Chairman of the Events Committee and Ali Omar Al Balushi, Director of Sports Events

Department at Dubai Sports Council.

In cooperation with Automotive partner Al Futtaim Toyota, Dubai Festival City, Energy Partner ENOC,

and Al Ain Water. The rally is also supported by the Dubai Government and its entities Dubai Police,

RTA, Dubai Sports Council, Dubai Municipality, Dubai Customs, Dubai Civil Defense, Wild Affairs

Region Department, Dubai Media and Dubai Sport TV.


The seventh edition of this desert classic event kicks off in Festival City in Dubai on Friday, November

10th, with the evening prologue stage offering spectators a chance to see all of the competitors in action

ahead of Saturday and Sunday’s cross-country legs.


Read our New Issue


See Haute couture from

Dior, Alexis Mabille, Georges Hobeika, Zuhair Murad, Valentino and more









Explore Moralmoda Art Culture Lifestyle Travel Business Interviews Events Get in touch


Comments


bottom of page